St. Margaret's Church, Preston under Scar
Shared gifts -
Externally St. Margaret’s plain architecture gives it the look of a non-conformist chapel. But inside there is a magnificent mural painted by Muriel Metcalfe of Leyburn who married the local artist Fred Lawson in 1933.
The beautiful oak altar, frontal case, and revolving book rack were made recently by village resident, Eric Pounder.
From Chapel of Ease to parish church -
This aisle-less church was built as a Chapel of Ease in 1862 within the parish of Holy Trinity, Wensley. St Margaret’s belonged to the Bolton Estate until 1934 when it was given to the Diocese of Ripon by Lord Bolton. It was licensed for Divine Service, the administration of the sacraments and for marriages in February 1935.
A community church -
Today it is part of a vibrant community where even those who do not attend services regularly assist with cleaning the church, arranging flowers and contribute regularly to its funds.
Many in the village prepare for and take part in the annual Songs of Praise, the Carol Service, and help with decorating the church for Christmas, Easter and Mothering Sunday.